Kalabis Quintet

The Kalabis Quintet was founded in 2012 at the Academy of Performing Arts in Prague. It was named after the famous Czech composer Viktor Kalabis (1923-2006) after winning the first prize at the Semmering Viktor Kalabis Prize, together with the blessing of the composer's wife, the famous harpsichordist Zuzana Růžičková. The ensemble is a sought-after interpreter of Czech contemporary compositions. 

Since its founding, the Kalabis Quintet has collected numerous other awards. Among the important ones is the first prize in the Czech Contemporary Music category at the competition in Payerbach (organized by the Universität für Musik und darstellende Kunst Wien), the first prize at the Karl Dittersdorf Competition in Vidnava, the third prize and the title of laureate at the French Le Concours international de quintette à vent Henri Tomasi in Marseille and the third prize at the Bucharest International Music Competition. 

The Kalabis Quintet has performed on more than a hundred domestic and international stages. He has appeared in the concert season of the Czech Chamber Music Society in the Suk Hall of the Rudolfinum in Prague and in the PKF - Prague Philharmonia chamber music series, and has collaborated with Czech Television and Czech Radio. Its members are orchestral players of leading Czech orchestras (National Theatre, State Opera, SOČR, PKF - Prague Philharmonia) and are also engaged in teaching activities.

In 2021 the quintet accepted an invitation to the most important Czech festival Prague Spring.  

Zuzana Leimer – flute
Jarmila Jermářová – oboe
Anna Sysová – clarinet
Denisa Beňovská – bassoon 
Adéla Psohlavcová – French horn

With support
Hl.město Praha
Ministerstvo kultury
General partner
Komerční banka
Principal partner
General media partner
Česká televize
Principal media partner
Hospodářské noviny
Centrální depozitář cenných papírů
Mozart Prague