Roussel. Gounod. Mendelssohn

Orchestral series A
Dvořák Hall Rudolfinum
Jan Palach Square 79/1, Prague

CZK 1300 | 900 | 700 | 500
Donor’s ticket CZK 3 000

Charles Gounod
Little Symphony for Wind Instruments
Wolfgang Amadeus Mozart
Violin concerto No.1, K.207, B-flat major
Albert Roussel
The Spider’s Feast: Symphonic Fragments Op. 17
Felix Mendelssohn-Bartholdy
Sinfonia No. 7 in D minor

Change of soloist

The originally announced world-class flutist Emmanuel Pahud will unfortunately not be able to attend the concert on the originally announced date. He will be replaced by another world star, violinist Bomsori Kim.

With the program of the seventh concert of the A-Series, we return to France in full. However, this time, in addition to the music of the 19th century, we will also get a taste of 20th-century music.

The concert opens with a charming chamber composition, Charles Gounod‘s Petite Symphonie [Little Symphony for Wind Instruments]. 

Albert Roussel was a prominent and innovative figure of the early 20th century and also a teacher of Erik Satie, Edgard Varèse and Bohuslav Martinů. Le Festin de l‘Araignée [The Spider's Feast], one of his best works, was created as a „ballet-pantomime“. The composition stands out by its unusual orchestration and offers an extraordinary musical insight into the realm of insects. In the end, we will get outside France: to offset the introductory composition played solely by the wind instruments, the early work of Felix Mendelssohn-Bartholdy, String Symphony No. 7 in D minor, will be heard.

With support
Hl.město Praha
Ministerstvo kultury
General partner
Komerční banka
Principal partner
General media partner
Česká televize
Principal media partner
Hospodářské noviny
Centrální depozitář cenných papírů
Mozart Prague