S1 USA: John Cage – Elliott Carter

Contemporary music series S
Dlouhá 33, Praha 1

400 | 300 CZK (seniors 65+) | 100 CZK (students and children up to 15)

Elliott Carter (1908–2012)
4 Lauds for solo violin (1984-2001) - selection
John Cage (1912–1992)
Three Pieces for Flute Duet (1935)
Elliott Carter
Oboe Quartet, for oboe and string trio (2001)
John Cage (1912–1992)
Nocturne for violin and piano (1947)
Elliott Carter
Con Leggerezza Pensosa for clarinet, violin and cello (1990)

The Cycle S 2022/2023 concert season opens in the USA:

John Cage – a proponent of aleatoric experimental music and lover of art and mycology.
Elliott Carter – graduated in music and English from Harvard University, the focal point of his art was atonal music and his compositions are among some of the most demanding for listeners. He was twice awarded the Pulitzer Prize for Music and won a Grammy Award in 1993.

We will introduce the chamber music of Cage and Carter using four compositions from various creative periods of the two composers with substantial time gaps. John Cage wrote Three Pieces for Flute Duet when he was 23, Elliott Carter composed his Oboe Quartet – for Oboe and String Trio when he was 93.

With support
Hl.město Praha
Ministerstvo kultury
General partner
Komerční banka
Principal partner
General media partner
Česká televize
Principal media partner
Hospodářské noviny
Centrální depozitář cenných papírů
Mozart Prague